June 2024
« Nov    
BSP sweeps by-polls in UP
Filed under: Political News
Posted by: @ 6:31 am

The ruling Bahujan Samaj Party has won the by-elections to all five constituencies, two Lok Sabha and three Vidhan Sabha seats, which went to polls on April 12.

BSP candidate Bhismshankar alias Kushal Tiwari won the Khalilababad Lok Sabha seat by a margin of over 64,000 votes, trouncing his nearest rival Bhalchandra Yadav of Samajwadi Party, election office sources said here.

BSP nominee Akbar Ahmad Dampi won the Azamgarh Lok Sabha seat defeating his nearest rival Ramakant Yadav of BJP by a margin of over 53,000 votes.

Brij Singh secured the Colonelganj Assembly seat defeating her nearest rival SP’s Yogesh Pratap Singh won by a margin of over 9,000  votes. Rajni Tiwari won Bilgram Assembly seat by over 38,000 votes, defeating SP candidate Vishram Singh.

BSP leader Rajpal Tyagi won the Moradnagar Assembly seat by a comfortable margin, defeating the Rastriya Lok Dal candidate.

In the Lok Sabha by-polls for the Betul-Harda seat, Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Hemant Khandelwal defeated his Congress rival Sukhdev Panse by a margin of over 35,440 votes.

“After the 12th and final round of counting, Khandelwal defeated Panse by a margin of over 35,440 votes,” said Arun Bhatt, Returning Officer and District Magistrate of Betul.

While Khandelwal secured 3,006,74 votes, his nearest rival Congress Party’s Panse got 2,65,234 votes, sources said, adding that a total of 6,56,049 voters had exercised their franchise for the April 12 by-polls. BJP has retained the seat fifth time in a row.

In a surprise outcome, Samajwadi Party candidate Dr Suneelam, considered a tough contender, lost his deposit securing only 21,698 votes. He was placed fourth.

An independent MLA, Rewa Ram, secured a surprise third position, but lost his deposit along with other candidates.

The by poll was necessitated following the death of BJP Member of Parliament Vijay Khandelwal, whose son won the by polls today.

Leave a Reply